Tuesday, 26 September 2017

Maryland men’s and women’s lacrosse sweep weekend B1G Tournament titles – Big Ten Network

Maryland continued its domination of the Big Ten Lacrosse Tournament over the weekend, as both the men’s and women’s teams claimed Big Ten Tournament titles for the second consecutive season.

The Terps men took the tourney title Saturday, defeating Ohio State 10-9:

The top-seeded Maryland men’s lacrosse team won the 2017 Big Ten Tournament title after posting a 10-9 win over second-seeded Ohio State in the championship game at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium on Saturday night.

The Terrapins’ Connor Kelly led all scorers with five goals. Colin Heacock scored the game-winner with 3:27 remaining, securing Maryland’s fifth goal of the fourth quarter. Ohio State was led offensively by Big Ten Freshman of the Year Tre Leclaire, who totaled four points with three goals and an assist. Maryland goalie Dan Morris recorded eight saves in the win.

Maryland won its second straight Big Ten Tournament title and earns the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show will air on ESPNU Sunday at 9 p.m. ET.
Kelly was named the tournament Most Valuable Player after also tallying five points against Penn State in the semifinals. The complete Big Ten All-Tournament Team is listed below:

MVP – Connor Kelly, Maryland

All-Tournament Team
Shack Stanwick, Johns Hopkins
Connor Kelly, Maryland
Dan Morris, Maryland
Tim Muller, Maryland
Tim Rotanz, Maryland
Freddy Freibott, Ohio State
Tre Leclaire, Ohio State
Ben Randall, Ohio State
Jake Withers, Ohio State
Chris Sabia, Penn State

The Terps women made sure Big Ten lacrosse stayed in a Maryland state of mind Sunday, beating Northwestern 14-6 in the tournament championship:

The top-seeded Maryland women’s lacrosse team won the 2017 Big Ten Tournament title after posting a 14-6 win over third-seeded Northwestern in the championship game Sunday at the Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex. The tournament title is the second consecutive for the Terrapins.

Maryland used a five-goal spurt to start the second half, which broke open a 6-4 lead at the break. The Terrapins’ Caroline Steele led the offensive attack with four goals on the afternoon, while Kali Hartshorn and Zoe Stukenberg each chipped in with three goals and one assist apiece. Megan Whittle (1G, 2A), Jen Giles (1G, 3A) and Caroline Wannen (3A) also registered multiple-point games.

Goalkeeper Megan Taylor ended the game with 16 saves to help lead the Terps to victory. Northwestern was led offensively by Nicole Beardsley with two goals, and Christina Esposito with one goal and two assists.

Steele was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player after scoring nine goals in two games, leading a group of five Terrapins on the All-Tournament Team.
Maryland improved to 19-0 on the season, and earns the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show will air on NCAA.com tonight at 9 p.m. ET.

All-Tournament Team
Shannon Fitzgerald, Johns Hopkins
Haley Schweizer, Johns Hopkins
Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland
Caroline Steele, Maryland
Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland
Megan Taylor, Maryland
Megan Whittle, Maryland
Nicole Beardsley, Northwestern
Lindsay Darrell, Northwestern
Christina Esposito, Northwestern
Ally Mueller, Northwestern
Kayla Brisolari, Penn State
Erika Spilker, Penn State
MVP – Caroline Steele, Maryland

Source link

Post Comment